Term Dates

 

 2018 School Terms and Holidays

Start date End date  Holidays
Term 4 – up to 10 weeks Monday 15 October Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Thursday 20 December
(96 half days)*Secondary and composite:
No later than Tuesday 18 December
(92 half days)**
Public holidays: Labour Day 22 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day

School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

 

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 384 half days in 2018.
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2018.

2019 School Terms and Holidays

Start date End date  Holidays
Term 1 – 11 weeks Between Monday 28 January
(at the earliest);
and Thursday 7 February (at the latest)
Friday 12 April (94-108 half days) Public holidays: Waitangi Day 6 February.

School holiday: Saturday 13 April – Sunday 28 April (includes Easter and Easter Tuesday and ANZAC day).

Term 2 – 10 weeks Monday 29 April Friday 5 July (98 half days) Public holiday: Queen’s Birthday 3 June

School holiday: Saturday 6 July – Sunday 21 July

Term 3 – 10 weeks Monday 22 July Friday 27 September (100 half days) School holidays: Saturday 28 September – Sunday 13 October
Term 4 – up to 10 weeks Monday 14 October Primary, intermediate and special schools:
No later than Friday 20 December (98 half days)*Secondary and composite:
No later than Friday 13 December (94 half days)**
Public holidays: Labour Day 28 October, Christmas Day, Boxing Day, New Year’s Day

School holiday: 5 or 6 weeks (from school’s closing date until opening date of school the following year)

* Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 390 half days in 2019.
** Or to a day in December which ensures that the school has been open for instruction for 380 half days in 2019.